Your Group founder responsibilities
can also read about Things you're not responsible
As a Group founder there are several things
that you, and only you, can do. For each Group
you start you will see a "Manage" link next
to it on your Home page. Click it and you'll
be taken to the Manage Group page, which allows
you to do all of the stuff you need to do as
a Group founder, such as:
You've probably already invited people to join
your Group when you set it up, but it's easy to
invite more people to your Group any time. Click
the "Invite" link (next to your Group name on
your Home page or the Group Home page) and you'll
be taken to the Send Invite page. Now, just type
in the Handle of the member you want to invite,
press "invite" and the member will get a text
message with the invite on his or her mobile phone
or pager. And hey, since you're the founder, there's
no approval process!
Making your Group public,
private, or secret
As Group founder, you'll be responsible for deciding
whether your Group is public, private, or secret.
This is an important decision but one you can
always change via the Manage Group link.
a public Group means that your Group
appears in searches and your Group Home Page
is available to anyone who is a guest or member
of SMSjunction -- even if they're not members of
your Group. Anyone can join a public Group.
There is no approval process.
a private Group means that your Group
appears in searches but your Message History
is only viewable by your Group's members. Additionally,
with a private Group, non-members must Ask to
Join or respond to an invite from a member (or
founder) to be admitted. If they Ask to Join,
only you, the Group founder can approve.
a secret Group means that your Group
never appears in searches. No one but you (the
founder) and Group members can get to the Group
Home Page. To become a member of a secret Group,
you must be invited by a member (or founder).
are some further distinctions between public,
private and secret Groups:
Handling membership requests
name shows up in Searches? Yes/Yes/No
can see Group Home Page? Yes/Yes, limited/No
can see Message Inbox? Yes/No/No
can Ask to Join? Yes/Yes/No
can send out Invites? Yes/Yes/Yes
All your Group's members can send invites to anyone
they like. However, as Group founder, only you
handle requests to join your Group. So how do
you know whether to let someone in? Well, if you
don't personally know the "candidate", start by
checking out his or her profile.
you're ready to make a decision you can approve
or deny memberships on either the Manage Group
page on SMSjunction.com or on SMSjunction's Voice
Message System. Whatever's more convenient.
Booting bad members
If any members are being disruptive, only you
have the power to boot them from the Group.
You might want to warn them first with a message
to give them a chance to clean up their act.
If you decide someone just doesn't get it, you
can boot them from your Manage Group page. Find
the member(s) who you want to kick out and click
the "boot" link next to their Handle. Everyone
in the Group will get a text message telling
them the member has been booted. The booted
member can always request to join again (or
be re-invited by another member in the Group)
but you're the only one who gets to decide whether
they've repented enough.
What you're not responsible
Group founders do not moderate Groups or approve
messages before they are sent out. Anyone in
the Group can send a message to anyone else
in the Group or to the entire Group. If a Group
member is sending too many or inappropriate
messages, any Group member can tell him or her
to chill out -- but only you have the power
to boot a member from your Group.
Changing your status in
When you join a Group, your default status is
Active. Active means that you are able to send
messages to and receive messages from your Group
As a Group founder, if you switch your status
to Away, your messages will be available to
read and listen to on your Group Home Page under
Message Inbox but will not be delivered to your
SMSjunction will only send you a text message once
you return to Active mode letting you know if
you have membership requests to deal with. All
membership requests for your Group will be available
for you to handle on SMSjunction.com and SMSjunction's
Voice Message System.
Disbanding your Group
You cannot quit any Group you've started. If
you decide you no longer wish to manage a Group
you must disband it by clicking the "Disband"
button next to the Group name you wish to disband
on your Home Page.
When you disband your Group, all the members
will receive a text message on their mobile
phone or pager letting them know that the group
no longer exists.